On your marks! Round 2 of the 2019 Global Series is here!

The second round comes from Motorland Aragon during the #AragonGP, with the Live TV Show taking place on Friday 20th September at 7.30pm.

The final phase of the 2019 MotoGP™ eSport Championship burst into life at the Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli last weekend and just six days on the second of three rounds offers competitors a chance of redemption at the #AragonGP.

The Global Series is contested between 12 of the world’s fastest gamers across three weekends, held at existing MotoGP™ rounds, and comprises of six races. The gamer with the most points after the sixth and final race will hoist the third ever MotoGP™ eSport Championship above their head.

Six countries – Spain, Italy, Belgium, Brazil, Australia and Indonesia – are represented in the Global Series. And in a new feature for 2019, each of the 12 riders will represent one of the current MotoGP™ teams, adding to the prestige and drama of the occasion.

The first round saw Team Suzuki Ecstar’s Cristianmm17 score second and first places in two action packed races, enough to give him a 12 point advantage in the current standings. But the Spaniard can’t rest on his laurels. Winner of race one and Ducati Team’s entry AndrewZH (+12 points), Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Juan_nh16 (+14 points) and reigning eSports champion and Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP rider trastevere73 (+16 points) are all still in the hunt after strong performances at round one.

Championship Standings after Round 1:

1st Cristianmm17: 45 points
2nd AndrewZh: 33 (+12)
3rd Juan_nh16: 31 (+14)
4th trastevere73: 29 (+16)
5th Mereja: 24 (+21)
6th adrianDP26: 24 (+21)
7th Moe: 19 (+26)
8th EleGhosT555: 16 (+29)
9th XxBoMbeR_45xX: 14 (+31)
10th Wimp: 12 (+33)
11th Rllorca: 12 (+33)
12th MrTftw: 9 (+36)

The second round comes from the Motorland Aragon amid the beautiful, arid landscape of Spain during the #AragonGP, with qualifying taking place on Thursday 19th September. That will act as a prelude to the second Live TV Show of the season with two ten-lap races, which get underway on Friday 20th at 7.30pm local time (GMT+2).

The 12 gamers will take on the challenging Sepang International Circuit for race one before battling on the undulating, technical Aragon layout for race two.

Both races will be broadcast live on MotoGP™ eSport YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, on MotoGP™ Social Channels, esport.motogp.com, motogp.com and to selected TV broadcast partners.

Not only will the eventual World Champion have the honour of holding that title, but they will also be the recipient of a BMW M135i xDrive Coupe.

There are a host of exciting prizes with the runner-up prize of a new Yamaha YZF-R3, and a third place prize courtesy of MotoGP™ eSport partner Lenovo™. The stakes are higher than ever as gamers worldwide battle to become the third MotoGP™ eSport World Champion.

share Share on Facebook Share on Twitter