Fighting for glory: All you need to know to become the 2018 MotoGP eSport Champion

The MotoGP™ eSport Championship is back in 2018 and sees more opportunities than ever to fight for the title

The 2018 MotoGP™ eSport Championship launches on the 18th July, offering you the chance to fight for victory and challenge for the crown. For this season, it’s set to be bigger and better than ever before with the competition now becoming a multi-platform event by allowing gamers on the Sony PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC to compete and battle for the same prize.

To participate, new users must register on the website. Once you have received your confirmation email and completed registration, visit your Profile and grab the ‘eSport ID Code’ and then fire up your MotoGP™18 videogame and enter it in the eSport menu. Existing users on the MotoGP™ eSport website are able to simply visit their profile and obtain the code before following the steps outlined above.

There are four phases of the 2018 MotoGP™ eSport Championship. The first are the Online Challenges, where players must beat pre-determined lap times in the Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup, Moto3™, Moto2™ and MotoGP™ categories to progress through to Phase 2, the MotoGP™ Qualification Challenge. However, if you are able to set an ‘exceptional lap time’ in either of the four categories, you will go straight through to the second phase and not have to compete in Phase 1 any further.

Phase 2 is otherwise known as the MotoGP Qualification Challenge. There are eight challenges in total, all of which are “Time Attack” sessions, where players will compete to set the quickest lap times at different circuits including COTA, Sachsenring, Losail, Red Bull Ring, Phillip Island, Mugello, Sepang and Buriram.

The third phase – or Semi Finals – will be live on-site events featuring the top players from each platform (Sony Playstation 4, Xbox One and PC) from the Qualification Challenge and will feature 12 players in each. Semi Final 1 is held at the Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli during the MotoGP™ event in September, whilst Semi Final 2 takes place at the Movistar eSports Center in Madrid in November. The quickest six players from each Semi Final will make up the 12 who progress into the Grand Final, or Phase 4.

The final phase of the MotoGP™ eSport Championship is the Grand Final event, which is held at the MotoGP™ season finale in Valencia. The 12 players who progress from Phase 3 will compete in Free Practice, Qualifying and Final Race, the latter of which will crown this year’s Champion.

More info on how to play here:

More info about the calendar here:


share Share on Facebook Share on Twitter